The Federal Government of Nigeria has finally issued a restriction entry for travelers from 13 countries which included the United States of America and the United Kingdom.

This was made known by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation Boss Mustapha at a media briefing which held on Wednesday. The affected countries are those who have recorded over 1,000 cases domestically and they include the United State of America, the United Kingdom,  China, Japan, Iran, Switzerland, Norway, Netherland, France, South Korea, Germany, Italy and Spain.

The restriction is expected to take effect starting on March 20 and will be in place until further notice.

In a similar development, the government has also suspended its visa on arrival policy due to the raging pandemic . The National Centre for Disease Control stated this via its Twitter account. “The Federal Government of Nigeria has also suspended the issuance of visa on arrival to travelers from these countries. All travelers returning from these countries prior to the restriction will be in supervised self-isolation, monitored by the NCDC and Port Health Services”, the tweet reads.

The Nigerian government on Wednesday suspended its visa on arrival policy over fears of further spread of coronavirus. It will be recalled that the President, Muhammadu Buhari had on February 4, 2020 presented the visa policy to the Council chambers of the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

The government’s announcement of the travel ban and suspension to the issuance of Nigeria visa on arrival is coming on the heels of the spike the latest news that Nigeria has recorded five new cases of coronavirus in the country.