The Super Eagles of Nigeria and the Fennes of Algeria have met have met 17 times with Nigeria winning 8 times, losing 6 times and both teams sharing the spoils 3 times. Nigeria last lost to the Fennes on 16th of March 1990 in an Africa Cup of Nations match. After that, both teams have met 7 times with Nigeria winning 6 of that and drawing just one. These leaves Nigeria with a better chance of winning, but while the Nigerian national side is relishing history the Algerians occupy the top spot in the African continent ranking.
The technical adviser of the Nigeria Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr has called up superstars in the English Premier League, Victor Moses, Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa and the captain of the national team John Mikel Obi for the World Cup Qualifier against the Fennecs of Algeria in Uyo on the 12th of November 2016.
Though the team remains relatively the same with that which defeated the Zambian national side in Ndola earlier in October to put Nigeria at the top of the group after the Algerians played a 1 all draw against the indomitable Lions of Cameroon, the German tactician has included Isreali based midfielder John Ogu , Oghenekaro Etebo and Leon Balogun who was laid off by injury in the last qualifiers to the team.
Players invited to the cracker are expected to start arriving from the 6th of November.
The Super Eagles will be hosting the Fennes of Algeria at the Goodswill Akpabio International Stadium on the 12th of November 2016.
Mind you, this will be Nigeria’s 50th World Cup Qualifiers at home. Nigeria has won 39 home matches, drawn 7 and lost 3 World Cup Qualifiers at home.
Full list of invited players:
Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England);
Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah);
Dele Alampasu (FC Cesarense, Portugal)
Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany);
William Paul Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway);
Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey);
Uche Henry Agbo (Granada FC, Spain);
Tyrone Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands);
Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus);
Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey);
Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium),
Kingsley Madu (SV Zulte Waregem, Belgium)
Mikel John Obi (Chelsea FC, England);
Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey);
Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium);
Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal);
John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)
Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England);
Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England);
Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium);
Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England);
Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England);
Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece);
Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here